Please Don’t Promote Me

I started writing for The Odyssey in April of 2016 and I’ve published many different pieces. Some have been about my job and others have been about my boyfriend and then even more have been about where I live and what I like to do. I’ve also written a lot about different music I like to listen to on different occasions.

I’ve really enjoyed my time with The Odyssey and it has really helped me in my professional life. I put my Editor-in-Chief as a reference and she helped me get my current job. She said so many nice things about me and how I helped make our team what it is and they decided they wanted to make me apart of their team because of what she said.

But some recent developments have me questioning how much longer my time will be at The Odyssey. My Editor-in-Chief is thinking of leaving due to school commitments (and, obviously, school has to come first) and wants me to take over her position. This has lead me to ask myself, “is this really the right move for me and for our team?”

I really think the answer is no.

Of course, one could argue that I’ve been there since the beginning with the team. I’ve helped build it up to what it is now (can’t take all the credit, of course) and I worked my way up from just a regular content creator to a contributing editor. But, of course, that’s when I had the time to devote to it. I had the time to write two or three articles a week to help keep us as a healthy community. I had the time to call creators and ask where their articles were. Now, not so much.

Carey does so much behind-the-scenes work for our team that it’s amazing she has time for anything else. She goes on conference calls with our Managing Editors during the day while I’m at work. Of course, there would be some days every now and again I could take one of those calls but– every week?– probably not on a consistent basis.

Of course, these past few weeks I’ve had my articles pre-written all the way through February and March so I could prepare for Adam to come home, enjoy my visit with him and then have time to mope when he leaves again. If I was Editor-in-Chief I wouldn’t have that ability to take that much time off.

Carey has everyone text her their article topics each Wednesday. If they don’t text her, she chases them down and talks to them about their ideas and what she can help them with. I don’t have the time for that.

Carey sends out reminders in our group chat. I forget.

While I would be honored to be considered for the position as EIC, I don’t think I’m the best choice for the job and it’s okay to admit that. Sometimes, you have to know what you can– and cannot– take on and be honest with yourself about your abilities.

So, if Carey leaves, I leave.

And I think I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

